2 Jun 2014

Review: Dark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore


Series: Dark Metropolis
Release date: June 17th 2014
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare-a haunting magical thriller set in a riveting 1930s-esque world.
Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder's mother is cursed with a spell that's driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules.
Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city's secrets-even while he hides secrets of his own.
Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they're not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too.
Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don't always seem to stay that way.

Review
I thoroughly enjoyed this book – it drew me in from the very beginning and I found myself desperately curious as to what was going to happen. I must say, after looking at the synopsis (after reading the book) I was surprised to learn the main character was only 16. Not sure why I missed that but Thea seemed at least 18 or 19 to me, not that that is an issue at all, of course.
I loved the mystery of the book and found it quite alluring – if that's the right word. It has something about it quite unlike anything I've ever read. Perhaps it was the mystery element, or the dark side? I can't quite put my finger on it, but I do know is that this is a great YA book and I'd love to read more by this author. She's really quite good, you know?
An excellent book for all ages.

Review by Suzy Turner

Find it on Goodreads.

Jaclyn Dolamore was homeschooled in a hippie sort of way and spent her childhood reading as many books as her skinny nerd-body could lug from the library and playing elaborate pretend games with her sister Kate. She skipped college and spent eight years drudging through retail jobs, developing her thrifty cooking skills and pursuing a lifelong writing dream. She has a passion for history, thrift stores, vintage dresses, David Bowie, drawing, and organic food. She lives with her partner and plot-sounding-board, Dade, and two black tabbies who have ruined her carpeting.

http://www.jaclyndolamore.com/ | http://twitter.com/jackiedolamore
a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 comment:

  1. Glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for participating!

    ReplyDelete

Hiya! Thanks so much for stopping by the Fiction Dreams site. If you have the time, I'd love to hear from you so please do leave a comment :D xx